Student Leadership Recognition Award

Student Leadership Recognition Award

Student Leadership Recognition Awards are back. For the last eight years, Student Leadership Recognition Awards (SLRAs) have been awarded to some of the most prominent RMIT students who have shown outstanding leadership and contribution to their community. RMIT SLRAs have opened pathways to help these RMIT students unlock their full potential. This year, there are a total of 10 Awards available for all RMIT students.

Award value

Top 3 winners:

1. Honor Certificate and Trophy Award

2. RMIT full sponsorship:

  • Return airfares to Bangkok, Thailand
  • Ticket to attend the 9th University Scholars Leadership Symposium 2018, Thailand, August 1-7, 2018 (For more information about what is included in the ticket, please check:

Other winners:

1. Honor Certificate and Trophy Award

2. RMIT merchandise

Who is eligible: Current RMIT Undergraduate and Postgraduate, who can provide proof of leadership accomplishments. The student must be actively involved in the RMIT University community and/or the surrounding community. The student must also have 2.0 GPA or higher.


Your application will be evaluated as below:

  • A minimum GPA of 2.0 (10%)
  • An up-to-date version of your resume including extracurricular activities and supporting documents/evidence/contact for reference. Participation in national/ international competitions and activities outside of RMIT will all be given credits. (20%)

  • A short personal statement (400 – 500 words) detailing one of the most meaningful leadership experiences that you have undertaken at RMIT Vietnam and why you believe you embody the award using the S.T.A.R (Situation. Task. Action. Result) method. This is a chance to share with the selection committee something about yourself that is not already evident in your resume. (50 %)

  • Two letters of recommendation from your supervisors or colleagues that support and demonstrate your leadership qualities. (20%)

    Apply here

Key dates:

  • Application Deadline: 11.59pm, July 5, 2018
  • Awards recipients notified: July 12, 2018

If you have any questions, please contact: or check out our FAQ